CTU Alum Named Prefect of the Dicastery for Bishops

Prefect of the Dicastery for Bishops

On January 30, Pope Francis selected Bishop Robert Francis Prevost, OSA as the next Prefect of the Dicastery for Bishops, succeeding Canadian Cardinal Marc Ouellet. Bishop Prevost is a 1982 graduate of Catholic Theological Union.

Before coming to CTU, Bishop Prevost studied at Villanova University where he earned a Bachelor of Science in mathematics in 1977. He joined the Augustinians that same year, and then came to CTU to earn an MDiv degree after professing his solemn vows. He went on to earn a doctoral degree in canon law from the Pontifical University of St. Thomas Aquinas in Rome. The Midwest Augustinians are members of the CTU Corporation.


Jeff Andrini (DMin, ‘17) is the Director of Evangelization and Discipleship for the Diocese of Owensboro Kentucky. He is also on the Board of Directors for the National Association for Lay Ministry (NALM). In 2021, he led a task force to address human resource issues. The outcome was a document titled, “The Church as a Field Hospital: Caring for our Own,” published in June 2022. It is a call to focus on gospel values in the ministerial workplace and ensure that best business and employment practices are fostered in our Catholic organizations. Further, it is a call to foster the importance of shared leadership and co-responsibility among all Church leadership and to affirm the vision of “Co-workers in the Vineyard of the Lord” (2005) from the USCCB. Copies of the document can be downloaded or purchased at: https://www.nalm.org/page/field_hospital

Why Do You Trouble This Woman? Women and the Spiritual Exercises of St. Ignatius of Loyola (Paulist Press, 2022) by Anne Arabome, SSS (DMin, ’11) was released on December 6. The first by a woman of color on Ignatian spirituality in a multicultural and intercultural setting, this book brings a unique voice from a place of diversity that is rich in insights for a global audience.

Jennifer Delvaux (MA, ’22) is the Director of Mission Integration for the Congregation of the Sisters of St. Joseph and CSJ Initiatives.

Aussie graduate of the Certificate in Biblical Spirituality (‘20) and two travel programs, Stephen Duckett, has been awarded a PhD in theology on the topic Healthcare Funding and Christian Ethics by the Archbishop of Canterbury, with a modified version of the thesis published by Cambridge University Press.

Ryan Hoffman (DMin, ‘20) was appointed Interim Co-Executive Director at the Religious Formation Conference (RFC).

Justin Huyck (MA, ’17) is the Director of Communications at the Diocese of Youngstown, OH.

Sr. Mūmbi Kīgūtha, CPPS (MA, ‘19) and member of CTU’s Board of Directors has been appointed the new President of Friends in Solidarity. Founded in 2015, Friends in Solidarity is the U.S. partner of Solidarity with South Sudan, an international network of Catholic sisters, priests and brothers, which focuses its ministry on building the capacity of South Sudanese to become teachers, registered nurses, midwives, sustainable farmers and pastoral agents. Learn more here: https://www.solidarityfriends.org/fis_new_president/

Antoine Therese Lawlor, IHM (DMin, ‘05) ended her time at CTU last June after serving for ten years as Assistant to the Vice President and Academic Dean. Last Spring, her IHM community invited her to discern a change to Immaculate University where she now serves as Vice-President for Mission and Ministry.

Very Reverend John Thomas J. Lane (MDiv, ’92) has been named Provincial Superior of the Congregation of the Blessed Sacrament, Province of Saint Ann. He remains Pastor of Saint Paschal Baylon Church in Highland Heights, OH. 

In February of 2022, Christopher Leach (MDiv/MSW, ‘13) left the Archdiocese of Detroit where he was the Director of Evangelical Charity and began working at the National Federation for Catholic Youth Ministry in Washington, DC as the Director of Strategy and Formation.

Sister Xiomara Méndez-Hernández, OP (MAPS, ‘14) has been named Executive Director of the Dominican Sisters Conference.

Jennifer Corliss Reid (MAPS, ‘20) who serves as Pastoral Associate at St. Moses the Black Church in Chicago, will receive the Christo Gloria Award for being a lay Catholic whose life exemplifies the teachings of Jesus Christ through her life and community. 

Joanne Sanders (MAPS, ‘95) is co-author of The Guide for Liturgy Committees, which was revised and published by Liturgy Training Publications in the fall of 2021. 

Antoine Therese Lawlor, IHM (DMin, ‘05)

Sister Xiomara Méndez-Hernández, OP (MAPS, ‘14)

Jennifer Corliss Reid (MAPS, ‘20)

In Memoriam

Mary Frances Carlson

CTU alumna Mary Carlson died of heart failure in February. Mary was a 1993 MDiv student and served for 16 years as the pastoral minister and liturgy coordinator at St. Thomas of Villanova parish in Palatine, IL. As girls’ basketball coach at Regina Dominican High School, Mary’s 62-game win streak set an Illinois state record.

Lynne Mapes-Riordan

We remember in prayer Lynne Mapes-Riordan, who died February 20, 2023, following a lengthy illness with ALS (Lou Gehrig’s Disease). Lynn was a CTU alumna, graduating in 2017 with an MA in Liturgical Ministry. A lawyer, wife, mother of two and longtime parishioner at St. Nicholas in Evanston, IL, Lynne is remembered for her steadfast efforts to restore women to the diaconate. 

Alicia Marill

Alicia passed into eternity on January 23, 2023. A DMin alumna from the class of 1998, Alicia faithfully served the Department of Theology and Philosophy at Barry University in Miami Shores, FL, for more than twenty years. Dr. Marill was the founder and president of Amor en Accion, supporting projects of education, nutrition, health, evangelization and reforestation in Haiti. She served as a board member of the Academy of Catholic Hispanic Theologians of the United States and was elected a representative of the United States Catholic Church to the first Congreso Americano Misionero held in Parana, Argentina.